The 10 Paleo foods I rely on most

cave meal_SM

Korean pork belly and roasted pike, kimchi, and a daikon, carrot and cilantro salad with dressing of coconut oil, lime juice and honey

When I first tried the paleo diet for a month in 2010, I soon found that I became dependent on certain go-to foods — things I would eat over and over again, for the most part because they were foods that conformed to the diet, were tasty enough to feel like a treat, and (perhaps most important for a busy caveman) were simple to prepare.

A week after resolving to eat paleo this time around, I’m back to gorging on the old favourites. I’m curious what other paleo and primal folks would put in the same category.

Here are my Top 10 go-to paleo foods, in no particular order:

Salmon

Smoked, baked or barbecued. Wild Pacific salmon, ideally from Alaska, for sustainability reasons

Avocado

In salads or with fish. Yum.

Pork belly

It’s caveman bacon! The tastiest part of the pig but without all the added sodium and nitrates and such.

Salads of all kinds

Especially ones with arugula

Chicken liver

Organ meat is a big deal for hunter-gatherers (read the first paragraph here), and chicken liver is easy to sautée.

chickenliversSM

Tea

I admit that tea is processed and thus dubiously paleo, but I allow myself to drink it because it beats my non-paleo alternative: I was a Coke Zero fiend.

Sunflower seeds

Great snack.

Raw oysters

How much more raw and primal can you get?

oysters

Lärabars

Unlike most snacks in bar form, Lärabars aren’t full of mystery ingredients. They’re basically just a bunch of food pushed together into a rectangle, making most of the flavours paleo. I know a health food store in Kensington in Toronto that sells them two for $3; I picked up 10 bars on the weekend. I stick them in my gym bag, laptop case, etc., so that I’ve got something to eat if I get stuck somewhere and there’s no cave-food in sight (just like our friend Ötzi).

Larabars_SM

Brussels sprouts

So easy to cook. Split in half, add pepper and your oil of choice, roast on 425F for about 40 minutes (until the outsides start to blacken). Add cashews late in cooking if that’s your thing. Perfect side dish, unless you’re green veg-phobic.

Check back later at Revenge of the Caveman for recipes involving these ingredients.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The 10 Paleo foods I rely on most

  1. Thanks for mentioning sustainability concerns with Salmon and the link back!

Leave a Reply

